This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

The search is on for top achievers in engineering, science and technology

02 May 2015

The IET has launched its annual Achievement Awards to find the most talented individuals currently working to advance the fields of engineering, science and technology.

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is calling on engineers to nominate their colleagues and contemporaries for exceptional work, in research and development or through leadership of an enterprise or specific project. There are awards for all career stages, spanning all sectors and job roles within engineering and technology.

The awards aim to inspire engineering excellence from those at the start of their careers, through to highly established professionals worldwide. Winners of these awards will receive a prestigious medal presented at the IET Achievement awards ceremony in London on Wednesday 18 November 2015 and some winners will also receive prizes of up to £500.

“As a world-leading professional body for engineers and technicians, we’re always excited to hear about new developments and discoveries in our sector," says William Webb, IET president. "We are looking forward to receiving nominations for fresh talent and established engineers at the top of their careers. We want to recognise achievement right across the field of engineering.

“To counter the risk of their great work going unnoticed, these awards put the spotlight on exceptional individuals who are contributing to the advancement of engineering and technology.”

Last year’s winner of the IET’s most prestigious prize, the Faraday Medal, was Professor Christofer Toumazou, Regius Professor of Engineering at Imperial College London. 

There are four IET Prestige Medals and six IET Achievement Medals to be awarded:

Faraday Medal
The most prestigious of the IET Achievement medals, awarded for notable scientific or industrial achievement globally, within engineering or for conspicuous service to the advancement of science, engineering and technology or for life-time achievement in science, engineering or technology.

Mountbatten Medal
Celebrating individuals who have made a significant contribution, to the promotion of either electronics or information technology and in the dissemination of the understanding of electronics and information technology to young people, or adults.

Mensforth Manufacturing Gold Medal
The Mensforth Manufacturing Gold Medal is awarded to candidates who have made major and distinguished contributions in the manufacturing sector, whether the advancement of manufacturing engineering technology or manufacturing management.

J  J Thomson Medal for Electronics
The J J Thomson Medal is awarded to candidates who have made major and distinguished contributions in electronics.

IET Achievement Medals
Up to six IET Achievement Medals are awarded to individuals who have made major and distinguished contributions in the various sectors of engineering, technology or applied science. The judging panel will look for outstanding and sustained excellence in one or more activities, for example, research and development, innovation, design, manufacturing, technical management, promotion of engineering and technology.

IET Achievement Awards for Young Professionals:

Sir Henry Royce Award
Awarded to an outstanding young engineering/IT professional who has excelled in the workplace within the last three years of their work in industry or for the profession.
Mike Sargeant Award
Awarded to a young engineering or IT professional who is judged to have made the most significant progress in their career over more than three years.

Paul Fletcher Award
Awarded to an IET young professional volunteer for outstanding achievement in contributing to the activities of the IET.

To find out more about the IET Achievement Awards and nominate, click here. Nominations should be made online by Friday 29 May 2015.

The IET is also calling on successful young female engineers to enter its Young Women Engineer of the Year Awards and demonstrate to young girls that engineering is a diverse and exciting industry offering creative and challenging careers.

Finding and celebrating the success of inspirational female role models is vital given that the UK currently has the lowest proportion of female engineering professionals in Europe at 6 percent, compared to Latvia, Bulgaria and Cyprus with 30 percent. A recent survey with parents of children aged 9-12 carried out by the IET also found that only 7 percent of parents would encourage their daughters to become engineers.

If the lack of women in engineering continues, the UK will be in a significantly weakened position to find the 1.82 million people with engineering skills that employers are projected to need from 2012 - 2022 (according to Engineering UK).

The 2015 Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards are all about raising the profile of today’s most impressive female engineers, celebrating their successes, and encouraging them to become role models to inspire the next generation of female engineers and help address the gender imbalance in engineering and science.

Former winners of the awards include Naomi Mitchison, a senior hardware engineer at Selex ES, Abbie Hutty, a spacecraft engineer currently working on Europe’s first Rover Mission to Mars and Yewande Akinola, an environmental services engineer with a passion for innovation and sustainable water supply.

The deadline for entry to the IET Young Woman Engineer of the Year awards is 30 June 2015. For more information, click here.

Print this page | E-mail this page