This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

New IET President to champion technicians and enhance the status of UK engineers

11 October 2021

The new President of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) will use his year-long term of office to champion engineering technicians by enhancing and supporting the professionalism and competency of the industry throughout the UK and internationally.

(Sir Julian Young, IET President)
(Sir Julian Young, IET President)

Air Marshal Sir Julian Young, who retired recently from the Royal Air Force after 40 years of service as an Engineer Officer, became today the 140th President of the IET (1 October 2021). 

With an increased government focus on vocational training and technical skills such as the introduction to T-Levels, Sir Julian will lead the IET over the next year to increase the visibility and importance of technicians – both within the IET’s membership and more widely to enhance the overall status of engineers.

Sir Julian will also continue to build on the success immediate past-president Professor Danielle George MBE achieved during the IET’s 150th anniversary. He wants to encourage and inspire the next generation of talent by demonstrating the positive societal role engineers and technologists play as well as shine a spotlight on the emergence of rapidly developing sectors such as cyber, AI and ‘green jobs’ – those that support sustainability and climate change.

Sir Julian said: “The engineering and technology industry supports and advances the world we live in, but more importantly it enables opportunity. It is our role as a professional membership body to support engineers and technologists throughout their professional career – enhancing the professionalism and competency of the industry by demonstrating engineering excellence. 

“There are still around three million engineers within the UK that do not belong to a professional membership body, with some four in 10 of these being technicians. This year I will be driving forward our offer to technicians and championing their role to help enhance their status and formulate a pipeline for which young people can see positive and sustainable career options ahead of them. This will support the Government’s ongoing work to raise the status of technical-level qualifications and boosting the skills needed within the industry.”

In his inaugural President’s Address, which takes place online on Thursday 14 October 2021, Sir Julian will explore the themes of professionalism and the importance of membership, the role of engineering to society and making a positive impact, embedding digitalisation and ensuring we are futureproofing the industry for the next generation.

The IET President’s Address, ‘Eat, Sleep, Engineer, Repeat – How you can play your part in evolving our engineering landscape for all’, will take place live online on Thursday 14 October at 1pm BST/2pm CET/8pm CST/8am EDT/5am PDT. Find out more here: https://presidentsaddress.theiet.org/


Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page