This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

Institution to reward the UK’s top engineering trailblazers

15 February 2012

As the Institution of Mechanical Engineers re-launches its Prestige Awards, the hunt is now on for six of the most innovative and inspiring mechanical engineers. Nominations for the six awards are open until March 31 and the winners will be celebrated at the Institution’s annual Vision Awards in the autumn.

Alec Osborn, vice chairman of the Trustee Board Awards Committee, which will be judging the awards, said: “These awards aim to highlight the work that engineers have achieved both nationally and internationally on a number of different fronts. Whether someone has gained world-wide recognition for their work, has contributed to improving safety or has broadened involvement in the profession then they could be in with a chance of gaining an award.”

The six awards up for grabs are:

The James Watt International Gold Medal
This biennial award is for an eminent engineer who has attained world-wide recognition in mechanical engineering in any direction - science and research, invention or production. 
The James Clayton Prize
This award, worth as much as £10,000, is awarded to a member or members of the Institution of any grade who contribute most in that year or over recent years to modern engineering science.

The Institution of Mechanical Engineers Equality and Diversity Award
This award, worth £1,000, is for Institution members, who have benefited those with Special Needs, by their paper, lecture, research, innovation or achievements.

The Institution of Mechanical Engineers Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering
This award, worth £1,000, recognises an eminent engineer who has contributed most in the understanding or reduction of risk in any area of mechanical engineering.

The Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and the George Stephenson Gold Medal
These two prizes reward the best original papers published by a member, or members, of the Institution during the previous year.
For more information on the awards and how to nominate, click here

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page