This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

Nominations open for Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

28 February 2012

Nominations have now opened for the £1m Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering. The prize recognises outstanding advances in engineering that have changed the world and benefited humanity; it will celebrate the best, and also serve to illuminate the sheer excitement of modern engineering, says organiser the Royal Academy of Engineering. Nominations will close on September 14 2012.

Lord Browne with Deputy Prime Minister, Nick Clegg at the launch of the QE Prize for Engineering
Lord Browne with Deputy Prime Minister, Nick Clegg at the launch of the QE Prize for Engineering

The international engineering community is being called upon to nominate their peers for the inaugural Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering - the biggest and most prestigious prize ever created to celebrate the achievements of today’s engineers.

Nominations open today for the prize which will award £1 million to the winning engineer or group of engineers responsible for the world’s greatest modern engineering advancement which has had a demonstrable benefit for humanity. The prize was created last year and aims to become as highly regarded internationally as the Nobel prizes. It will be awarded biennially and the search for the winner will demonstrate the importance of engineering to the fabric of society in every country across the globe.

Since its launch on 17 November 2011, the prize organisers have been assembling an eminent panel of judges – leaders in their fields across engineering disciplines, from around the world. They are academics and leaders in industry and are well placed to assess the importance and impact of engineering innovations globally.

Lord Alec Broers, Chair of the Judging Panel, said "We have been fortunate in being able to draw together from around the world an amazingly distinguished group of panellists to judge this uniquely important prize, all of them household names in the world of engineering and science, and many of them leaders of internationally pre-eminent institutions and Academies."

The confirmed judging panel is as follows:
- Prof Frances Arnold, Chemical Engineer, Professor at Caltech, USA
- Lord Alec Broers FREng Hon FMedSci FRS (Chair), Electrical Engineer. Past President, Royal Academy of Engineering, UK
- Prof Brian Cox OBE, Particle Physicist. Royal Society Research Fellow, University of Manchester, UK
- Prof Lynn Gladden, CBE FREng FRS Chemical Engineer. Professor at University of Cambridge, UK
- Diane Greene, Director of Intuit, Director of Google, USA
- Prof Calestous Juma, HonFREng FRS, Professor of International Development and Director of Science, Tech and Globalisation Project, Harvard University, USA
- Prof Hiroshi Komiyama, Chemical Engineer President Engineering Academy of Japan
- Prof John Hennessy, Electrical Engineer. President, Stanford University, USA
- Prof. Dr. h.c. Reinhard Hüttl, President, acatech, Germany
- Nathan Mhyrvold, Co-founder, Intellectual Ventures, USA
- Narayana Murthy, Electronic Engineer. Founder, Infosys, India
- Prof Choon Fong Shih, Mechanical Engineer. President, King Abdullah
University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
- Dr Charles Vest FREng Mechanical Engineer. President, National Academy of Engineering, USA
- Paul Westbury FREng, Civil Engineer. CEO, Buro Happold, UK

The QEPrize is the result of a growing realisation in the worlds of business, engineering and politics of the need for a pioneering initiative to focus attention on engineering worldwide. A number of major engineering companies have donated to an endowment fund, which is being managed by an independent charitable trust, the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation, chaired by Lord Browne of Madingley FREng FRS. The Royal Academy of Engineering in the UK will deliver the prize on behalf of the Trust.

Lord Browne said: “This is a wonderful opportunity for engineers everywhere to show the world their work and have it honoured on an international platform. To simply be nominated for this award would be an achievement in itself but to win it would be to write your name in the annals of engineering history.”

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation has overall responsibility for the prize and the board of trustees is chaired by Lord Browne of Madingley. The day-to-day running of the prize is managed by the Queen Elizabeth Prize team at The Royal Academy of Engineering.

For more information and to make a nomination, click here.

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page

MinitecBritish Encoder