This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

Nominations open for awards to celebrate world’s top engineers

21 January 2013

The Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) is calling for nominations for inspiring individuals or groups working in engineering to enter its annual awards.

Professor Isobel Pollock
Professor Isobel Pollock

The James Clayton Prize, worth up to £10,000, which is to be awarded to one or several members of the Institution who have made a significant achievement to modern engineering science in recent years. The achievement could be demonstrated through a paper on a modern engineering subject, originality in engineering design or service to engineering.

Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering, worth £1,000, is open to Institution members and non-members and recognises any engineer who has contributed to the understanding or reduction of risk in any area of mechanical engineering.

Institution of Mechanical Engineers’ Equality and Diversity Award, worth £1,000, recognises the work that one or more members of the Institution have undertaken to benefit those from minority or under-represented groups. This could include technologies to overcome physical disabilities, or simply making engineering an attractive career for people who are under-represented in the profession.

Professor Isobel Pollock (pictured), president of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers said: “These awards celebrate the very best about engineering – from people who are moving technology forward and making practices safer through to people who are breaking down barriers to under-represented groups joining the profession.

“I urge people to nominate engineers who they feel deserve to be recognised through these prestigious awards.

“Apart from the financial rewards, winners also benefit from peer recognition and the impressive endorsement of a prize from the Institution that was set up by the Father of the Railways, George Stephenson.”

Nominations for the three Prestige Awards for 2013 are open until March 31 and winners will be presented with their awards at the Institution’s annual Vision Awards in the autumn.

For further information or to nominate a candidate, click here.

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page

MinitecRegarl Rexnord