This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

IET seeks world’s brightest engineering innovations

14 June 2013

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has launched a worldwide search for the best in engineering ahead of its annual IET Innovation Awards.

Nigel Fine
Nigel Fine

The Innovation Awards recognise excellence across 15 categories, which span the breadth of science, engineering and technology. The free-to-enter competition is open to members and non-members of the IET and celebrates innovative engineering excellence.

Entries for the Emerging Technology Design category are encouraged from R&D departments within industry and academia. Recognition will be given to entries delivering tangible, pioneering and original work that addresses specific needs.

Innovations submitted to this category can be the product itself or a specific feature of the product. The product itself may be mass-produced or custom-made and the submitted entry must be in working, marketable condition.

The Innovation Awards, now in their ninth year, raise the profile of their winners and bring them to a wider audience. Many former Innovation Awards winners report increased interest in their products as a result of winning the accolade. 

IET chief executive, Nigel Fine (pictured) said the awards recognise the most outstanding innovations across science, engineering and technology celebrating the contribution made by engineers and technicians to enhance people’s lives everywhere. 

“The IET is passionate about promoting engineering excellence and the Innovation Awards are a great opportunity to showcase some of the very best work taking place around the world.” 

Each category of the Innovation Awards is independently judged by a panel of experts in that field, with the shortlist announced each October. Winners will be revealed at a celebrity-hosted awards ceremony in London on November 20 2013.

There are still some sponsorship opportunities available. Sponsorship of the Innovation Awards provides profile opportunities within the global engineering, science and technology community.  Contact Mandy Mercer for details.

To find out more about the Innovation Awards, sponsorship opportunities or to submit an entry, click here. The deadline for entries is July 26 2013. 

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page